AFL 2 years ago

Dangerfield claims 2016 Brownlow

  • Dangerfield claims 2016 Brownlow

    GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 27: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats runs with the ball during the round 23 AFL match between the Geelong Cats and the Melbourne Demons at Simonds Stadium on August 27, 2016 in Geelong, Australia. (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

Geelong star Patrick Dangerfield is set to cap an outstanding AFL season with his first Brownlow Medal.

The midfielder has cleaned up the player awards this season and is the overwhelming favourite for Monday night's count in Melbourne.

Dangerfield is $1.20 in TAB betting and Richmond's Dustin Martin is next at $9.

You might also like

While Sydney midfielders such as Luke Parker, Josh Kennedy and Dan Hannebery have played key roles in helping their team make the grand final, none are rated as strong Brownlow chances.

The Swans stars will probably take votes off each other.

They will not attend the Melbourne function, given they are in Saturday's grand final, and instead will attend a club dinner.

Marcus Bontempelli is the main Western Bulldogs chance, but he too is rated an outsider.

Winning the Brownlow would be a fitting personal milestone for Dangerfield, who made the high-profile move from Adelaide after last season under free agency.

Dangerfield starred against Hawthorn in round one and continued from there.

He was high among Geelong's best at the end of their season, when the Swans easily beat them on Friday night in the preliminary final.

Dangerfield has said repeatedly that he would rather win the premiership than the Brownlow.

He and Cats captain Joel Selwood have formed a powerful midfield combination this season, earning them the nickname Dangerwood.

If Dangerfield wins, he will be the first Geelong Brownlow Medallist since Gary Ablett in 2009.

Ablett also won a second Brownlow at Gold Coast three years ago.

Dangerfield has been so dominant there is speculation he could surpass the 34 votes that Collingwood star Dane Swan polled to win the Brownlow in 2011.

Fremantle's Nat Fyfe was also a hot favourite last year and he won with 31.

0 0
please wait...